ChemSpider wins another award

ChemSpider was awarded the prestigious ALPSP Award for Publishing Innovation 2010 in a shortlist of four. This Award recognises a significantly innovative approach to any aspect of publication. The judges considered the originality and innovative qualities of each application, together with its utility, benefit to its community and long term development prospects.

The judges said: “ChemSpider has quickly become a highly valued and comprehensive community resource and has immense potential for future development.”

ChemSpider is an Open Access collection of of structure-based chemistry information available online and is provided for the benefit of the community by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). Available for free to everybody, this tool aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository. The tool builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information and links back to original data sources. ChemSpider offers text and structure searching to find compounds of interest and provides unique services to improve the data by providing tools to curate and use the data.

Antony Williams, VP Strategic Development at the RSC, said: “Our efforts remain focused on innovating and extending the reach of the ChemSpider platform with the intention of providing a free online resource of high-quality chemistry data for the community. We are honoured that ALPSP have acknowledged our work with this innovation award.”

Other ALPSP winners include: CRCnetBASE from CRC Press (Taylor & Francis Group). This is a sophisticated platform won the Award for Best eBook Publisher – best platform. Shortlisted were: the Semantic Biochemical Journal from Portland Press and the University of Manchester and UniPHY from the American Institute of Physics. Also shortlisted were the American Institute of Physics’ Scitation eBooks Hosting and Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences from Morgan & Claypool Life Sciences.

Go to ChemSpider here.
Read about the ALPSP Awards 2010 – Winners here.

Leave a Reply